Detailing 101 Need to find out how to pamper your new MINI? Find out all the detailing secrets here.

help understanding meguires vs Griots

Search this Thread

Old 06-09-2017, 04:12 PM
JDPaddle
3rd Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
help understanding meguires vs Griots

Hi all,
This MINI detailing forum is the bomb!

I posted on a VW forum but since I learned most of what I know about detailing on here on the MINI site and I got no response on VW Forum, I thought I would post here.

New Back Pearl GTI owner. (also White MINI Clubman S) I have about 1000 miles. I knew I would want to detail it right away and I am glad I did. It had a funky milky white cloudy haze on parts of it.

Questions- I am a rookie in modern detailing however, I have a Griots 6" DA and have been maintaining my MINI bought new in 2013 and have an old Subaru outback that went through a few years of neglect that I practiced on. I keep the MINI in what I believe is better visual appearance than when delivered to me. Or at least matching that.

I have used exclusively Griots polish 1,2, and 3 and orange pads simply because that's what I started with and that's what I understand to this point. I use their Best in Show Wax and like it well enough. It actually seems to last many, many months, far longer than I read here. My cars are garaged and I keep them washed up. I just tried their Poly wax and I liked it as far as applying and taking off and I like the visual results. Time will tell how it holds up. The GTI cleaned up very well and is far better than they delivered it to me.