Detailing 101 Need to find out how to pamper your new MINI? Find out all the detailing secrets here.

Black Wow questions....am I doing something wrong?

Search this Thread

Old 06-18-2009, 05:45 PM
Mike1968NM
3rd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Black Wow questions....am I doing something wrong?

Hi Everyone!

Let me first state that I have NEVER used BW before, so I am NOT bashing the product AT ALL....I just need a few pointers!

1. I applied the BW to my 2005.5 VW Jetta TDI's black plastic areas PRIOR to washing.
2. I used a 50/50 mix of isopropyl alcohol and distilled water to clean the plastic areas thoroughly prior to application of BW.
3. I used my air compressor "blow gun" accessory to ensure all moisture was gone.
4. I used a yellow foam applicator pad (new) and a sesame seed size spot.
5. Worked the BW into the areas....a little goes a LONG LONG WAY!
6. Waited about an hour (this may be my problem) and washed the car.

When the car was done being washed and dried, I noticed that there were areas that appeared as though NO black wow was applied.

Would it hurt to go over it again now with the BW?
Will it eventually "even out" with multiple applications?

For my wife's new Clubbie S (one month old) can I apply the BW to the plastic trim and allow it to sit overnight and then drive around? I know Richard (OctaneGuy) has stated that it is good to wash after application, but I was wondering if it would do any "harm" to have it on there and let it "soak" for a long time until the next wash (probably on Sunday so it would be on for 72 hours or so). I am very careful in my application and will be using both the laminated BW application card and my trusty blue painter's tape, so getting it on the paint is not an issue for me.

Some observations:

I LOVE THE SMELL OF THE BW!!!!!
The areas that the BW "absorbed" into are simply amazing!!!! I never realized just how greyed out my trim was on the Jetta!