Detailing 101 Need to find out how to pamper your new MINI? Find out all the detailing secrets here.

Easter Vacay Plans? Strip off newly applied Epic, apply clay, then Epic do-over???

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2008, 06:27 PM
surlycat
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Easter Vacay Plans? Strip off newly applied Epic, apply clay, then Epic do-over???

Okay ya'll:

There I was, feeling mighty pleased with myself for baby's first bath , and what do I get? Oughta have clayed first. Clay. Clay. CLAY!

This is how ya'll get OCD, you do realize that don't you?

Soooo...being a teacher, I get a few days off here - do I strip off the Epic, and Clay, then reapply Epic? Hmmm??

What do I get the Epic off with? And....could this just be leading to a whole new DP order?

Old 03-18-2008, 06:35 PM
CR&PW&JB
OVERDRIVE
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Did your final product not come out as you hoped ? The paint doesn't feel smooth as a baby's butt ? You see swirls under the Epic ?

If not, I would wait until my next major detailing, six months from now and clay then.

If you're not happy with it, then yes, go ahead and start over. You get take off the Epic with PS21, or Dawn regular blue detergent, or some folks use a spray of water and alcohol.

BTW, I didn't see any mention of polish in your post. That's just as important, maybe more so, than clay, clay, clay !

Old 03-18-2008, 06:42 PM
surlycat
2nd Gear
There's polish? Whaaaat? I thought I'd got it down with Prima, now you tell me polish???

No, really, I didn't know about polish. What do you recommend?

Old 03-18-2008, 06:46 PM
CR&PW&JB
OVERDRIVE
Stick with the Prima line of products. There's several polishes and which you use depends on the condition of your paint.

Me, I use Prima Swirl and then Prima Finish before I put down the Epic.

BTW... got a Random Orbital buffer ?? It'll make your life soooooooo much easier and your car sooooooooooooooo much more beautiful !

I know, I know... $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$