Classic Mini Talk Interested in the Classic Mini? Discuss the Classic and its variants here!

Am I wrong to want a classic Mini?

Search this Thread

Old 04-23-2007, 11:36 AM
ImagoX
6th Gear
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Am I wrong to want a classic Mini?

I've wanted a classic Mini ever since seeing them way back in the late 80's in college. I love my 2006 cabrio, but I'm still smitten with the classic Mini... there's just something about them that I love. Well, I'm sure everyone in HERE knows what I mean...

But...

Honestly... I'm not a mechanic. I worked for two years as a service writer in a Honda motorcycle dealership, which more than anything taught me just how much I do NOT know about working on motor vehicles. I can do some basic things (oil changes, bolt-on type MODs, minor electrical and the like), and I have pretty good common sense and can follow instructions, but I'm definitely a mechanical "newb" where classic Minis are concerned, with only basic tools.

This being the case, is it even reasonable for me to look into purchasing a classic, assuming that I were to find a mechanically sound specimin (reasonable rust, engine in workin condition etc.). I'm trying to factor in things like availability/scarcity of parts, availability of mechanics knowlegable enough to assist me if (when) I get stuck, cost of maintaining such a car assuming it's to be garage kept and used as a short-trip driver (I live 5 miles from work), etc.

What do you guys think? Am I kidding myself or is this something that a person of my skill level could consider attempting?

Thanks in advance!!

Last edited by ImagoX; 04-23-2007 at 11:39 AM.
Old 04-23-2007, 11:52 AM
roaduscarnivorous
5th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts