Classic Mini Talk Interested in the Classic Mini? Discuss the Classic and its variants here!

European Road trip in a '93 Mpi

Search this Thread

Old 05-06-2009, 01:29 PM
Venno
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
European Road trip in a '93 Mpi

So I'm planning a European Road trip with my friend next week. We plan on taking my '93 1.3l Mpi cooper from Prague to Champagne region of france, Paris, London and Finally MINI United. Although My MINI is in great working Condition, I'm wondering what tools/spare parts i should bring for emergency repairs. Also, since I'm from the States and not familiar with Europes version of AAA, who would I call for repairs if i broke down in lets say Germany or France or England? I was thinking that since I work for a well known compact construction vehicle company as a Design Engineer I could fall back on calling dealers and seeing if they could help me out, but relying on them is a backup plan. Any comments or suggestions are appreciated, thanks

Old 05-06-2009, 07:10 PM
Minimad
6th Gear
The UK has the RAC and AA similar to the AAA in the US. They likely are EU-wide. There's probably similar organizations on the continent.

I'd search the internet for Mini clubs in the areas you are going to visit. They would be the best resource should you run into any major mechanical trouble. Especially for referrals for parts/service. But, unlike the US, mechanics in the EU have seen Minis before...

I'd carry a cell phone, a roadside assistance plan, basic tools, oil, H2O. I'd PM the car before leaving by oil change, tune-up, check tires & alignment, check brake linings and fluids, check all belts and hoses & replace as needed.

Old 05-06-2009, 09:28 PM
dimini
6th Gear