R56 :: Hatch Talk (2007+) MINI Cooper and Cooper S (R56) hatchback discussion.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

R56 Singing the blues!!

Search this Thread

Old 09-16-2014, 04:15 PM
Shad
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Singing the blues!! 2007 copper S

First let me say I have been stocking these forums for sometime looking for answers. Some have been very helpful for that I must say thanks. Let me say this first my spelling suxs sorry for my future misspelled words. Lol this is my daughter car 16 year old had to have a Mini Cooper . Car has 65000 miles and up to about a month ago problem free about 10,000 miles then it went south. I am not a Ase mechanic by know means but I pride myself on fixing most of my own cars. Here is the rub. Car started running really bad dyeing no power miss fire on every cylinder . First thought after reading a ton high pressure fuel pump or carbon on valves . First thing I did was get set up to do a walnut valve blasting since Mini Cooper of San Antonio wanted $900 something to do the job. Long story short got the valves cleaned still not running right better but not right. Took the car to Mini Cooper they changed the high pressure fuel pump under recall car got rid of the misfire codes but still runs bad. Said for $750 they would fix the valve cover leak I had $475 for the part $300 for labor.. Picked up the car changed out the part in 30 mins for $305 plus shipping. Car still runs like crap also had to change out a very over engineered thermostat housing due to a leak. Car still runs like crap at low rpms seems to be getting worse at high way speed it is ok has a what feels like a died miss from time to time. At low rpm it shakes no power and will die from time to time. 190 psi on every cylinder when I had the valve cover off thankfully some one has already change out the time chain with a new one that is good and tight no slack and a metal top rail as a guide. All hose clamps are tight and it is giving the following codes today p217