R50/R53 :: Hatch Talk (2002-2006) Cooper (R50) and Cooper S (R53) hatchback discussion.

R50/53 Did I break something? HELP

Search this Thread

Old 07-17-2016, 08:59 PM
sarom058
5th Gear
Location: Portland, OR *currently in a temporary email address
Received 20 Likes on 19 Posts
Did I break something? HELP

Hey guys,

I took it upon myself (as a broke college student, great idea, right?) to bring an '03 LY/B MCS back to life this summer. I've never done any repairs before, only mods (STi suspension swap into a MY02 Forester, intakes, exhaust, etc), but when my Focus died in March, I decided to buy my boss' messed up MCS and fix it up.

The heat exchanger, cv boots, control arm bushings, ball joints, motor mounts, front crankshaft position sensor, oil pan gasket, BPV, and radiator fan resistor were all blown. Threw in some Redline tranny fluid for good measure, too.

After 6 weekends of working on the car, almost $2000, and no sleep and minimal food for me, I buttoned the last nut up this afternoon. All the repairs were successful. I even put all polyurethane mounts, did operation VGS on a used '06 BPV, and plastidipped the exterior trim back to a sexy-brand-new-black! "Sweet, finally done," I thought, as I decided to try starting the car (while still on jackstands, just in case). Reset the ECU, primed the fuel pump, and crossed my fingers.

...and then I tried cranking her over.

Dashboard lights up. Service Engine Soon, Engine Management, the whole shebang. Car cranks, and splutters to life for a split second, and immediately stalls.

Turn the key again.

Car starts, splutters into a sorry excuse for an idle at ~650 rpm, and then bounces its way to a not-very-consistent 900 rpm. Warms up, seems pretty stable.

Then I tried giving it some throttle.

That's when my poor little MINI started resisting. If I give it any amount of throttle, it sort of zig-zags it's way up to ~1900 rpm, and then bounces there, unable to continue. Even at full throttle, 1900 rpm. WTFFFFF