R50/R53 :: Hatch Talk (2002-2006) Cooper (R50) and Cooper S (R53) hatchback discussion.

R50/53 teutonik's R53 Auto-X Defibrilation & Build

Search this Thread

Old 02-08-2016, 07:15 PM
teutonik
2nd Gear
Received 15 Likes on 8 Posts
teutonik's R53 Auto-X Defibrilation & Build

After introducing myself in the appropriate section, I may as well start the build thread of my R53 summer DD/autox-er. After work hours, I put it on the lift (no, I'm not a mechanic, but my boss is a massive petrolhead, so we have a lift at work) and got started reviving the patient. The car is in decent physical condition given the mileage and the salted roadways during the winter months, but does have some mechanical issues and somebody cheaping out on plastic bits broken in a front center accident. I was sold on the recently rebuilt supercharger... Anyways, the previous owner bought it as a project car but was going through family issues and put it up for sale at a loss.

Immediate work:
- oil filter gaskets
- valve cover gasket
- serpentine belt
- rear brakes (complete overhaul... wait 'till you see the pics!!! )
- dead battery
- hood and hatch supports
- RF outer ball joint
- 4 CEL codes (all EVAP and O2 related, but won't attack those until the electric system is fixed)
- missing a-pillar trim

The patient:

First order of business? Missing wheel lock keys and summer tires. (Can't drive to the dealer due to winter tire rule and don't want to waste another tow from CAA.) Out come the drill bits...

Rear brake assessment... ready for the carnage?

Are you sure you're ready?

Yeah. The previous previous owner had a seized rear caliper and deserves a Darwin award. His fix was to remove the caliper and cap the line. Yes, I knew this when I bought it... hence my WTB ad. I'm keeing this to present as a trophy to someone.