Tires, Wheels, & Brakes Discussion about wheels, tires, and brakes for the new MINI.

All season/ Winter rubber

Search this Thread

Old 01-08-2007, 05:35 PM
72guy
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
All season/ Winter rubber

I'm a newb with a wife who has a new ( 2004 9800 mi) MCS. Thumbs up for the wife not the MCS. Just jerkin' yer chain. Two days of ownership, wife lets me drive, and I'm hooked!!

We've been Jeep fans for quite awhile. Great group of people and all kinds of mods. Never did I imagine the Wrangler could be matched for mods and upgrades 'til I got into TWO days of MINI stuff. I haven't finished the Rubicon mods and now I'm putting $$ to the MINI. Does it ever end?

I've got silver S-Lites with Pirelli Euphorias on the car. I'm putting the Pirelli's on a set of white S-Lites. Wifes car is electric blue with white top and mirrors. Things gotta be color matched.

Finally , my question is. The silver S-Lites. I want to put an all-season or winter type tire on them. Is the 17" R-85 a good foundation for this type(winter) of driving. What tire should I be looking for/at and should I use steel wheels instead of the alloy?

Regards and thanks for the help.

Old 01-08-2007, 07:07 PM
Bilbo-Baggins
6th Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Welcome to the MINI world. We tend to be a friendly bunch.

There are some very good run-flat winter tires available from Tire Rack. They tested pretty well. Since you already have the 17" wheels just use them.

If you want to go for steel wheels then I would recommend either 6.5"x16" or 5.5"x15" if they will fit over your brakes, if you do not have a big brake kit installed. The 185/65-15 is an excellant winter tire size. Similar diameter as the 17" wheel/tire combo so no speedo corrections needed.