Tires, Wheels, & Brakes Discussion about wheels, tires, and brakes for the new MINI.

05 r53 fitment noob

Search this Thread

Old 06-21-2019, 12:13 AM
jeromenclature
1st Gear
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
05 r53 fitment noob

hey there,
I recently purchased my r53 cooper s from the mechanic at my local mini garage and i love it but im really interested in getting new wheels. I have zero experience with changing wheels so i was hoping someone here could help me wrap my head around what exactly i need to do to give it a proper fitment. its also difficult for me because it has a few upgrades already which I assumed were good because it was the mechanics personal car, but im so new to minis that i figured id just ask a forum if anythings worth changing. its an 05', he told me he upgraded to jcw suspension but im not sure if he just changed the springs or if he had the whole kit, or maybe just changing the springs isnt even an option lol. he also changed the run flats for Michelin's which he was saying are great but i really dont know anything about what tires perform best. ill try and find out the model name of the tires but the sizing says 225/45zr17, thought i at least knew what that meant but ive never seen a z in there before ahah. I was looking briefly online and it seems people like the enkei rpf1's , also i like the styling.

basically what im trying to ask is are my current tires worth keeping and therefore should i get rims which fit these tires? if so does anyone have recommendations for 17 inch rims that look good on r53s and perform well? would i have any clearance issues with the jcw sus when shopping for aftermarket 17s? and lastly with that setup is it going to look good or is it going to look like it needs to be lowered further?

thanks and sorry for any stupid questions!

Old 06-21-2019, 04:51 AM
Minibeagle
6th Gear
Received 75 Likes on 68 Posts