Tires, Wheels, & Brakes Discussion about wheels, tires, and brakes for the new MINI.

Brake pad replacement advice

Search this Thread

Old 11-15-2015, 02:50 PM
audiodef
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Brake pad replacement advice

I'm sure there's already plenty of info out there, but I'm not sure what to search for.

The brake pad light in my 06 just came on, and I would like to replace the brake pads myself. How do I go about doing that? Do I also need to buy new discs? Do I need to buy new sensors? Is there anything else other than pads I need to buy? What brands are good? What DIY videos (specific videos) would be helpful? I've never done this before, but I'm not intimidated - I just need to know what I'm getting into. I'd appreciate any and all tips, instructions and advice.

Old 11-15-2015, 03:51 PM
Minnie.the.Moocher
OVERDRIVE
Received 570 Likes on 486 Posts
You need to determine if the rotors are ok. Either they are fine, need turning or replacement. Since they aren't all that expensive I just went ahead and replaced mine. Some vendors have good info about brake changes, as well as youtube. Also need to determine kind of pads you are going to want, normal street driving, aggressive driving, track, etc. Is dust a concern, then go for a ceramic pad. Lots to think about.

I went with Centric rotors, OEM sensor and Akebono pads. Obviously many options, I'm sure you will hear of lots of them.

http://www.pelicanparts.com/techarti...dex.htm#basics

Old 11-15-2015, 08:25 PM
WayMotorWorks
Vendor
Received 757 Likes on 618 Posts
There is a sensor on the left front and right rear so you need to check and see which brakes are worn out.
Then measure the rotors or see if there is a big lip on the edge if so replace.
The front pads are easy to replace, the rears you need to get the harbor freight tool to screw the pistons back in.