Stock Problems/Issues Discussions related to warranty related issues and repairs, or other problems with the OEM parts and software for MINI Cooper (R50), Cabrio (R52), and Cooper S (R53) MINIs.

Clutch Fork or bleed?

Old 07-01-2017, 07:58 PM
Dreamer2
Neutral
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Clutch Fork or bleed?

We're at our wits end. Our '06 MCS slowly got harder to shift. Then impossible. There was no noises, like when a throw out bearing goes. It didn't feel rough or shudder. It felt as if it needed adjustment (Yes, I'm old). There was no slipping.

First, I researched: (We have the big Bentley book)
  • Replaced master
  • Bled
  • read the Pelican part's tut
  • Replaced slave
  • Bled (pressure)
  • Bled again, waited over night
  • repeat
  • Fricken' repeat
It just doesn't seem to disengage fully.
I'm an Electro-mechanical Designer with certificate in Mechatronics (includes semester hours in hydraulics/pneumatics). WTF are we doing wrong?
Q: What should be the distance from the slave mount face to the fork lever at full extension?
We can't determine if it's air, cylinders, or a bad fork without understanding this dimension.

It doesn't seem to go quite 90 degrees to slave. This is with a stick flooring the pedal, again, waiting over night.

When compared to the old slave, it appears the more travel is possible. I can't seem to move the lever further with the tools I have.
As a tech, I need dimensions. If anybody knows them or recognizes this as short, that would help. Pulling the tranny would be difficult in our circumstances. Paying someone else to do it would be impossible.

Thanks,
Gary

Old 07-03-2017, 08:08 AM
PelicanParts.com
Vendor
Received 62 Likes on 59 Posts