Stock Problems/Issues Discussions related to warranty related issues and repairs, or other problems with the OEM parts and software for MINI Cooper (R50), Cabrio (R52), and Cooper S (R53) MINIs.

Mini not starting

Search this Thread

Old 12-18-2011, 10:56 AM
MiniGigi
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Mini not starting

Afternoon Gentlemen!

A little background information:

So approx 3 week ago I was sitting idling and shut my mini off to go for a walk at park near my job. I came back attempted to start the car and nothing, not clicking sound, but I had power but no way of knowing if I was getting enough volts to get the starter to work so:

I called AAA and got a jump, but no luck, car still didn't start!

Off the to dealership it got towed.

So after a day of the shop looking at it, they told me it was a faulty starter. The cost to replace the starter, $687 US. :( :(
So I'm no expert but decently knowledgeable with cars, so I read on the forums and decided to replace my own starter.

Off to Autozone, purchased a new starter cost 120 sans core.

I finished today replacing the starter, which btw with a few extension rods is easy to from the right wheel well.

Anywho...... So put everything back, all good, exhaust manifold, heat shield and new starter in place.

Well I go to start the car, and same thing nothing, no clicking nada! :( :(

I'm perplexed.... so I decided to check then voltage on the battery terminals looks like its over 12volts, so not terrible but not awesome.

Ok that wasn't the problem I thought, so I decided to check the fuses, nothing wrong there.

Is there something I'm not thinking of before I bring this to a mechanic?

Looking for some guidance.

many thanks in advance guys.

Sincerely,
MiniGigi

Old 12-18-2011, 07:18 PM
Gizmo
6th Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
With the new battery, when you turn the key does the electronics turn on in the car or is everything completely dead?

Old 12-19-2011, 05:52 AM
ScottRiqui
OVERDRIVE