Stock Problems/Issues Discussions related to warranty related issues and repairs, or other problems with the OEM parts and software for MINI Cooper (R50), Cabrio (R52), and Cooper S (R53) MINIs.

replaced worn upper engine mount and upper stabilizer mount - ride improved

Search this Thread

Old 06-24-2010, 02:52 AM
Neufusion
4th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
replaced worn upper engine mount and upper stabilizer mount - ride improved

At 90k miles,
The other day I replaced my lower OEM mount with good results -
https://www.northamericanmotoring.co...-improved.html

Today I replaced the upper motor mount and upper stabilizer mount. I used an OEM upper stabilizer mount and a 'prototype' TSW polyurethane upper engine mount designed to work with my 10/2003 build 2004 MCS.

I am a novice mechanic and I used this as a guide:
https://www.northamericanmotoring.co...ine-mount.html

I didn't think the stabilizer mount did much, as it is completely missing from other gen1 builds, but it had tears in it just as the lower mount did. The upper mount had huge cavities all the way around and cranking on it would open them up to almost an inch deep. It didn't look pretty.

WOW. Shifting is so amazingly smooth. Throttle response is great. Throttle adjustment in turns is in tune with the road. Letting off the gas abruptly feels great - the car just glides as it decelerates.

NVH is there. The second I started the car, the speedometer and dash started rattling. It seems to rattle at 2500 rpm. The rest of the time there is vibration. If I grip the steering wheel tight, I can feel it in my hands. It makes the car feel meaner though. I can feel the engine working. I've heard that polyurethane has a break in period, so if it improves even a little bit it will be totally acceptable in my book.