Stock Problems/Issues Discussions related to warranty related issues and repairs, or other problems with the OEM parts and software for MINI Cooper (R50), Cabrio (R52), and Cooper S (R53) MINIs.

my belt tore twice in 2 days: need help!

Search this Thread

Old 01-08-2008, 12:56 PM
hechoenny
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

ok so i have a 2002 mini type s (not sure what the abreviations are for it, im new at this) and my serpentine belt has snapped twice in the past two days. i realize that the first one might have just gone normally from wear and tear(65k on car) , but now that the second one has snapped off, i need a lil help with suggestions on what could possibly be wrong. i read in another thread that maybe when the first belt snaps off that the tensioner might crash into the crank pulley causing some damage. while this might be the problem, im also hoping for some other ideas on what it may be. thanx for the help guys

Last edited by hechoenny; 01-08-2008 at 12:57 PM. Reason: left out serpentine
Old 01-08-2008, 01:06 PM
MRmidge
3rd Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Only reason a belt should snap in a day is if a pulley is damaged in some way. Or , if the belt is running off center on one of the pulleys. But if it went 65K before a break, and the new belt was installed properly and checked. Something is damaged in there. Sorry i can't help more.

Old 01-08-2008, 01:10 PM
Eric_Rowland
OVERDRIVE
Received 43 Likes on 38 Posts
Who installed the belt?
Did you confirm that it was running straight and true?
How quickly did go (running time?)
Were you able to examine either broken belt? They could give you clues as to the culprit.

First step is to visually examine all pullies for nicks, dings and alignments.

After the new belt is on, idle the car and check that the belt is running on all pullies.

Old 01-08-2008, 04:24 PM
Alerious
3rd Gear
Possibly due to a failing belt tensioner?

GotMINI

Old 01-08-2008, 08:00 PM
hechoenny
Neutral