South East - Carolinas North and South Carolina

Relocation Help...Considering Raleigh, NC?

Search this Thread

Old 09-16-2004, 05:28 PM
JakeMate
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Relocation Help...Considering Raleigh, NC?

I'm considering relocating from Southern California and I'm considering Raleigh, NC as a destination. I've never been there but I'm hoping it meets my criteria for a great place to live. I was hoping that some of you could advise on a few things:

1) Are there any nearby tracks?
2) How's the weather?
3) How is the insect situation?
4) I'm a mechanical Engineer....any idea how the job situation is?
5) Home prices......What can I get for $400,000-$500,000? How are property taxes?
6) Driving roads....are there good roads for weekend drives? How's the cop situation?
7) How are the schools?
8) How's the night life? Restaurants? Weekend activities for families?

I was born and raised in Buffalo, NY and have been in SoCal for the last 9 years. The housing prices are through the roof here and I was considering cashing out. I'd also like to find a better place to raise my son and someplace with less traffic. Thanks in advance!

Jake

Old 09-16-2004, 06:03 PM
Trainman
5th Gear
Hi JakeMate,
I'm not an authority on Raleigh, But I did work there for several months, and stayed at a Holiday Inn Express:

1) Lowes motor speedway.. but you can't get in there.. There's a track in Kershaw, SC, about 2 hours away.
2) Cold in the winter.
3) No worse than anywhere else around the southeast.
4) There are several engineering firms in the area. I work for O'Neal Inc. www.onealinc.com
5) A mansion
6) Head for the mountains. Western NC has really, really good twisties..
7) Ahh, uhhh, skul?
8) Nightlife? Good restaurants, the beach is 2 or 3 hours away..

Some of the local members of m2c2 (Mini Motoring Club of the Carolinas) should be able to help you better..

Old 09-17-2004, 07:37 AM
1MiniGrl
Banned
Originally Posted by JakeMate