R56 :: Hatch Talk (2007+) MINI Cooper and Cooper S (R56) hatchback discussion.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

R56 Blown turbo??

Search this Thread

Old 05-21-2015, 08:01 PM
StPeteMiniS
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Blown turbo??

I have 77k on my 07mcs now and in the last two weeks, I have gone back into limp mode. Ran my obd2 and got one code only, P2885 (besides my 02 sensor code via my decatted dp).

I replaced the maf sensor, nothing changed, my cam sensor is brand new too, as is the valve cover. Oil levels and condition are spot on. So, now I'm hearing a clacking noise, I'm assuming just the injectors, but my major issue is the car does NOT want to move under low speeds and the initial get-go.

Also, I'm putting out a darn good amount of smoke, especially going from 0-20. I'm assuming it can't be anything else but the turbo.. Everything on this car is practically new, problem is I'm still 4k upside down so calling it quits isn't exactly an option...so what are my options? If this is indeed the turbo that is.

Old 05-22-2015, 01:18 PM
StPeteMiniS
2nd Gear
anyone??

Old 05-22-2015, 01:30 PM
Agbullet25
5th Gear
Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
Next course of action is when the engine is cool, pull the inlet hose off the turbo and see if there is any play in the turbine shaft. It's entirely possible that the noise you're hearing is from the shaft having too much play and scrapping around the sides of the housing.

Old 05-22-2015, 02:08 PM
StPeteMiniS
2nd Gear
Okay I'll try to do that tonight after its really cool. Say there's no play, even though I'm sure there is, what other culprit could be at hand for the oil smoke? It's not from the motor that much is for sure and it is internal.

Old 05-22-2015, 02:34 PM
Agbullet25
5th Gear
Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
Could be a result of blow-by from a bad piston ring. But I'm not too knowledgeable about that.

Old 05-22-2015, 03:23 PM
StPeteMiniS
2nd Gear