Navigation & Audio Bring your GPS and favorite CD or MP3. This is where navigation and audio options for the Cooper (R50), Cabrio (R52), and Cooper S (R53) MINIs are discussed.

Navigation & Audio Rear Speaker Replacement - How?

Search this Thread

Old 10-19-2002, 05:35 AM
sndwave
Coordinator :: Gulf Coast & Panhandle MINIs
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Can anyone tell me how to get to the rear speakers to replace them? I've seen posts that say you must remove the rear seat. Is this true and if so, how? This is my first attempt at car audio replacement and would like a step by step on how to get to the 6 X 9's in the back seat area. Thanks for any inputs you may have.

Old 10-19-2002, 12:26 PM
Davbret
6th Gear
Back seat removal

1 Remove seat bench by following this link.
2 Fold seats flat, headrests down.
3 Remove the 10mm bolt from anchor point between the seats.
4 Flip the catch plate on the top of the anchor point upwards freeing the seat pivots.
5 Starting with the left seat (theres a reason for this believe me!!) gently pull the seat pivot upwards and free of the anchorage point but don't tip the seat upwards more than necessary.
6 Whilst applying gentle sidewards pressure to the seat, inwards toward the centre of the car (pull it from the bottom only level with the outer pivot point) tilt the seat fowards and backwards until it frees itself from its outer fixing point. The pivots have two pegs which pop out from the fixing point in the right tilt posistion (usually around 45 degree tilt forwards). Take care not to move the seat too much any other way but forwards and backwards tilt, or the outer fixing point will break. Try to move the seat only as much it does when fixed in place, only allowing just enough tilt to clear the other seat when it pulls free.
7 Repeat for the right side.