Navigation & Audio Audio upgrades, bluetooth, and navigation discussions surrounding the Clubman (R55), Cooper and Cooper S (R56), and Cabrio (R57) MINIs.

Navigation & Audio My Mini Full Newbie Upgrade + Install

Search this Thread

Old 08-26-2010, 09:03 AM
tmacdmb
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My Mini Full Newbie Upgrade + Install

Hey.

I first want to say that this site is awesome and I just would never be able to do this all on my own if it wasn't for your sharing.

I am a newbie when it comes to car stereo installs but I am going to do it anyway. I am very handy and know home audio (completely different I know)... but I am confident it will go smoothly.

After some good hours of research, this is what I have decided to go for:

Amp..............................Boston Acoustics GT-5750
Front Component.............Boston Acoustics ProSeries 60SE
Rear 6 x 9......................Boston Acoustics SR95
Subwoofer.....................Boston Acoustics G310-44
Subwoofer Level Control...Boston Acoustics GT-RSL
Sub Enclosure.................Urban Mini
Tweeter Holder...............Urban Mini
Sound Deadener..............RAAMmat BXT
14g Speaker Wire............?

All together it is $1500 bucks (from various online retailers), which is good for that type of install, and also right at my budget. I think it is a pretty good setup, but what do you think? Do you see any potential problems with this setup?

I will definitely be planning on doing the "Front/Rear Channel Swap." I will install the amp in the back as designed with the Urban Mini Sub Enclosure. I am not sure about the wiring yet, but I will figure it out before the install.

Hopefully you will help and join in my progress through this post. I am planning on working on this with my buddy over a long weekend in garage (into the night if neccisary) and will track my progress with notes + pictures. I want to give some newbie project tracking to help make others confident.