Navigation & Audio Bring your GPS and favorite CD or MP3. This is where navigation and audio options for the Cooper (R50), Cabrio (R52), and Cooper S (R53) MINIs are discussed.

Navigation & Audio ICE-LINK Plus killed my car?

Search this Thread

Old 11-07-2007, 08:19 AM
LagunaSol
4th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
ICE-LINK Plus killed my car?

I've been using my ICE-LINK plus successfully for over 2 years with my old 30 gig iPod and my 5.5 gen 80 gig iPod. My iPhone, on the other hand, has been hit or miss. Monday I was driving home from work listening to an audiobook on the iPhone via the ICE-LINK and I was suddenly hit with electrical gremlins. The windshield wipers started going. Then the airbag and seatbelt lights came on. I pulled off the road, shut down the car and restarted, hoping that would reset the system. It didn't. In addition, my interior instrument lights and my turn signals no longer worked.

When I got home, I disconnected the battery for 15 minutes or so, again hoping to reset the system. This still did not work. In addition to the other symptoms described above, my head unit now says "disabled" (perhaps the radio just needs to be reset after the battery disconnect).

Is there any way for me to reset the system and clear these issues? I don't relish the thought of driving 30 miles to the dealership with ***** electronics. I guess I'm done with the ICE-LINK Plus - I suppose I'll have to remove it.

In the meantime, it would be nice to have a driveable car.

Any advice appreciated.

Old 11-07-2007, 09:06 AM
gnatster
6th Gear
I'd call EAS assuming it was purchased through them to see if they can offer any advice on the situation.

Please do keep us informed as to how this pans out.

Old 11-07-2007, 09:17 AM
tom @ eas
Banned
The module has failed, shorting ibus - this needs to be removed immediately.

Your best bet would be to upgrade to the DICE at this time. We have an upgrade that will allow for you to use your existing cabling: