MINI E Talk (2010) Discussion of the electric, zero-emissions field trial MINI. Only 500 to be leased by MINIUSA!

MINI E tax credit

Search this Thread

Old 04-10-2009, 04:58 PM
Greg802
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
MINI E tax credit

Does the one year lease for the mini e qualify for the $7500 federal tax credit?

Old 04-10-2009, 06:12 PM
ChasSidwa
1st Gear
I don't expect any tax credit because it is a 1 year lease. There are recapture rules in the new law which have not been defined yet. I'm a tax accountant for the last 30+ years and this is what I see.

Old 04-10-2009, 06:22 PM
ElectroBoy
2nd Gear
greg - in one of the other thread topics you'll see a post from me with the answer from the Mini E West Coast rep - the short answer unfortunately is no. I think the only ones of us getting a tax break are the NJ folks, where there is no sales tax on e-vehicles.

Old 04-10-2009, 06:28 PM
ChasSidwa
1st Gear
I believe you are referencing the statement that only the lessor gets the $7,500.00 credit. That was correct prior to the economic stimulus bill which does now give it to the lessee. The problem is the short duration of the lease, 1 year, and the reference to recapture rules, not yet definied.

Bottom line, don't sign the lease if you are expecting a credit.

Old 04-12-2009, 08:24 PM
Tim07040
1st Gear
I think the best advice, already given, is to not count on the credit. But I don't think we should assume it will not apply. It may. If you take a look at the bill itself, the language is arcane, and as previous posts in other threads have mentioned, a lot depends on how the IRS issues the regulations and forms.

We could still hope for some credit... I am. But of course, do not depend on it.

Old 04-13-2009, 08:49 AM
edgein
2nd Gear
If you want a tax credit, you have to ask for it. How do you think that bill was written in the first place? Even though there are only 500 of us, we need to make our voices heard.

"What do we want?"

"A tax credit!"