JCW Garage Interested in John Cooper Works (JCW) parts for your 2nd Generation MINI? This is where JCW upgrades and accessories for the MINI Clubman (R55), Cooper and Cooper S (R56), and Cabrio (R57) MINIs are discussed.

JCW Fitting a JCW Aero Kit

Search this Thread

Old 02-24-2007, 09:26 PM
karlInSanDiego
4th Gear
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Fitting a JCW Aero Kit

Finally got a quote to fit our Aero kit after the car arrived at the dealer. Kit cost is $1595 and cost to fit is ....
wait for it....

$1605

Kit is shipped primed and without paint, and this is my dealer's cost to paint and fit it.

So I've decided to shoot it and fit it myself. If anyone out there has fitted this kit to the R56 and wants to share their experience, I'm all ears. I've got lots of experience wrenching and have the install pdf, so please don't feel the need to warn that you'd never try that. But on the other hand I am short an R56 manual, and would benefit from anyone who has experience with fitting this already. If I pull it off, we'll be the Mellow Yellow/Blk S Aero at AMVIV!

Old 02-24-2007, 10:25 PM
Ryephile
OVERDRIVE
Received 29 Likes on 22 Posts
Wait, do you mean to say you were quoted the total kit with install as $3,200?

$1605 for paint and 2 hours of labor swapping the bumpers is re-frickin-diculous! Just for a loose reference, I got a quote from my local custom paint shop for $300 for prepping & painting the front bumper and side sills. I'd say if you have the painting skills and the install PDF, you're 95% there!

Old 02-25-2007, 12:21 AM
msh441
6th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I TOLD YOU!!!

Still, it might be worth getting some quotes at a couple good local body shops... you could find the price more in the $300-500 range... but then again, I admire the DIY attitude, for sure.

Go luck. Sorry I couldn't be any more help than the .pdf link I sent earlier.

Old 02-25-2007, 04:23 AM
Skuzzy
OVERDRIVE
Received 1 Like on 1 Post