JCW Garage Interested in John Cooper Works (JCW) parts for your 2nd Generation MINI? This is where JCW upgrades and accessories for the MINI Clubman (R55), Cooper and Cooper S (R56), and Cabrio (R57) MINIs are discussed.

JCW Sudden pinging and loss of power?

Search this Thread

Old 02-20-2015, 05:56 PM
pakisho
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Sudden pinging and loss of power?

Was on my way home from work shifted into third and give it some stick and the car suddenly cut power along with some audible detonation. I am mediately got out of the throttle and a car then proceeded to run fine. Subsequent cautious attempts at both part and full throttle did not cause any issues.

Any thoughts? I am still relatively new to the car and I just had it inspected at a mini dealership last weekend who pronounced it in perfect working order

Old 02-20-2015, 08:25 PM
Wynnston
1st Gear
Hi Pakisho,

It could be a lot of different things.

The common issues to look out for that could result in pinging/detonation, it could be one, some, or none of these. In my case it was carbon build up, but I was too late and now my pistons are damaged, and god knows what else. You often have to be pretty hard on it to break it but sometimes they just break. My only tip is to not push it hard (boost much) until you've worked out what it is, unfortunately that requires a lot of patience.

- Your not running the right fuel (too low octane)
- Your MAF is dirty
- Your intake valves are carboned up and need decoking
- Your PCV is faulty and a little oil is mixing with fuel
- Your injectors could be clogged
- Your fuel pump is faulty
- Your fuel filter is clogged
- Your intake temps are too high
- You have a vacuum leak

Old 03-09-2015, 08:45 PM
pakisho
1st Gear
I threw a few gallons of 100 octane in it, who knows how long the car sat at the dealer, and who knows what grade gas they put in it anyway. Running fine for now, lets see how it goes.

Old 03-11-2015, 02:20 PM
pakisho
1st Gear