JCW Garage Interested in John Cooper Works (JCW) parts for your 1st Generation MINI? This is where JCW upgrades and accessories for the Cooper (R50), Cabrio (R52), and Cooper S (R53) MINIs are discussed.

new 2013 JCW Clubman and i want to lower the car

Search this Thread

Old 07-06-2013, 10:15 AM
gyager22
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
new 2013 JCW Clubman and i want to lower the car

i must say that i am a newbie to the world of modifications to Mini's and i sure am learning a lot.

i recently purchased a 2013 JCW clubman, BRG. it is a fantastic, i enjoy it very much. however i want to lower the center of gravity and improve the suspension. I have several questions that i hope that you can answer for me.

I checked on putting on the JCW suspension but the dealer in So Cal said it was $5000 usd. i said no way, too expensive and i am not sure what i can do and not invalidate my warranty....while i am new at this i would like to stiffen up the suspension a bit and perhaps lower it as well....should i just keep the suspension as it is and just buy lower springs to lower the profile and buy new anti sway bars for the front and rear? also install a JCW upper stress bar? Like i said, this is all news to me, so any advice you might offer would be a great assistance to me....

Old 07-17-2013, 01:34 PM
MiniWii
2nd Gear
Hey, I'm new to Mini's as well but been in the car scene for quite some time. Do you plan to track the car? Or are you just looking to aesthetic's? If you are doing lower springs will be just fine unless you want to completely "dump" your car. A shop will usually charge you around 300-400 dollars to install springs. If you want to track the car and/or go lower than what springs will do for you then coil overs.