GP Talk (2006) Discussion of the limited edition, MINI Cooper S (R53)-based, John Cooper Works GP.

Mulling Over GP Purchase

Search this Thread

Old 05-15-2013, 02:33 PM
halid
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Mulling Over GP Purchase

I'm new to NAM and would appreciate member input regarding my anticipated purchase of an '06 GP. I have some major concerns/questions:

Are GPs labor intensive requiring often costly repairs, component replacement, service?

What is the life expectancy of the steering pump and what does replacement cost?

In general, what are the weakest links in the GP running gear that cause the most headaches?

Can run flat tires be replaced by regular tires w/o adversely impacting TPMS, suspension settings, etc.?

Thank you for sharing your knowledge and experience.

HD

Old 05-15-2013, 03:04 PM
NC TRACKRAT
6th Gear
Received 200 Likes on 147 Posts
What costly repairs/service? In our experience, the MINI GP is a trouble-free as any '05-'06 MCS. Keep in mind, the '06 was the last of the Series 1 and they had most problem areas pretty much solved. There's no TPMS. Yes, if you want to keep the fillings in your teeth, you should change out to standard tires (215/40x18 preferred size). Normal maintenance, change oil & filter at 1/2 MINI prescribed intervals, etc. The MINI GP is an absolute HOOT and it's weakest link is usually the driver!

Old 05-15-2013, 03:09 PM
Braminator
OVERDRIVE
Received 50 Likes on 35 Posts
the mini gp is an absolute hoot and it's weakest link is usually the driver!
bahahaaha

Old 05-15-2013, 05:01 PM
quikmni
6th Gear
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Here is a link to a good buyers guide that describes the various years and common and not-so-common problems.
http://www.motoringfile.com/mini-r50r53-buyers-guide/
As stated from a maintenance standpoint a GP is no different than a 2006 Mini Cooper S.