Drivetrain (Cooper S) MINI Cooper S (R53) intakes, exhausts, pulleys, headers, throttle bodies, and any other modifications to the Cooper S drivetrain.

Drivetrain Porting a Eaton M45 SC. Can it be done?

Search this Thread

Old 11-21-2005, 09:04 AM
ChiliCooperS
6th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Porting a Eaton M45 SC. Can it be done?

Just was reading another thread from back in 04. Any news since then? What can be gained by doing it? What is involved? How is the hp gain? How does it sound?

Chili

Old 11-21-2005, 09:36 AM
mdsbrain
OVERDRIVE
I'm no expert at this but is that similar/same as what M7 offers?

http://m7tuning.com/products/sc.html

Old 11-21-2005, 10:15 AM
k-huevo
6th Gear
Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
This has been covered extensively so it won’t take much effort to extract the info using the search function. In a nut shell here are the two main modifiers: http://www.theoldone.com/components/...ead_modifi.htm and http://www.stiegemeier.com/index1.html

How does it sound? Second hand reporting on the Stiegemeier version is “effortless”; I would interpret that as quiet/non-obtrusive. First hand on Endyn’s version with a 19% reduction pulley; subdued whine up to hellish shrill depending on the intake, exhaust and belt.

Old 11-21-2005, 10:51 AM
norm03s
6th Gear
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Theoldone's work is beautiful. If the money was available his parts would be on my MINI.

Old 11-21-2005, 11:11 AM
ingsoc
6th Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Originally Posted by k-huevo
Second hand reporting on the Stiegemeier version is “effortless”
Actually, I'm pretty sure that was/is my first-hand reporting on my ported supercharger from M7. The charger spools much easier and nicer, from my experience, hence "effortless." The sound is totally different- wish I could capture it on file... I'll get on that.

Old 11-21-2005, 11:19 AM
Tüls
Turbius Maximus
Originally Posted by ingsoc