Drivetrain (Cooper S) MINI Cooper S (R53) intakes, exhausts, pulleys, headers, throttle bodies, and any other modifications to the Cooper S drivetrain.

Drivetrain New R52 Owner looking for technical advice

Search this Thread

Old 12-04-2012, 10:02 AM
b00sted_05
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New R52 Owner looking for technical advice

Hi all, this is my 2nd post after lingering on this forum for the past week and reading a TON of threads. I just purchased my first MC, a lightly modded 2005 S Cabrio with 85k miles. I'm new to Mini's but not new to tuning, previous cars include 99 Civic Si, 02 WRX and 03 350Z, motorcycles, all lightly modded for daily driver use. Engine mods are:

17% Alta SC Pulley
2% Craven Speed Crank Pulley
K&N Panel Filter

I haven't taken delivery yet so I'm not sure if it's running OEM or colder plugs. There is a slight pinging sound under load at full throttle in 6th gear above 4k rpm, which I've read up on already. (possibly other gear but didn't hear any during test drives). I have a whole list of routine maintenance items and checks I plan to go through upon delivery to get her in tip top running shape to take me well into 100k miles.

My overarching concern is this: This is my daily driver and I do not intend to track the car nor am I looking for the maximum horsepower I can get out of the car. Like most people, I want the most reliable power I can get (and the best value for the dollar as $$ is a factor). From what I've read anything above a 17% pulley is pushing the limits of the cars internals and greatly increases the chances of issues, especially without a tune, which I do NOT intend to get.