Drivetrain (Cooper S) MINI Cooper S (R53) intakes, exhausts, pulleys, headers, throttle bodies, and any other modifications to the Cooper S drivetrain.

Drivetrain Transmission Help - Mechanic Needed Needed Near Arlington VA

Search this Thread

Old 10-06-2011, 07:30 AM
dondada
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Transmission Help - Mechanic Needed Needed Near Arlington VA

Hi,

Seems like my transmission is starting to give me issues. I'm not a car expert but after spending the past 3 days researching on this forum I think I have similar problem to what's being discussion in a lot of the transmission posts.

I have 2005 Cooper S with about 87K miles.
The Mini is fine when it's cold but once it warms up, here are some of the problems:
- Sometimes it takes a long time for it to shift.
- When I put it in reverse; the car jumps or makes a loud bang noise and shift very hard.
- Sometimes when I'm stopped at a light, the car will jump or shift hard when taking off.

After reading everything, looks like I would have to get a Transmission Flush.

Can someone recommend a mechanic near/around Arlington VA?

- I took it to my local Mr. Tire & they said they can try but have never flushed a transmission on a Mini so don't feel too confident about their work.
- I called Funktion Auto in Dulles, VA but they are too far for me.
- I checked out Specialty Services in Arlington, VA but all the reviews online are worst then the dealers in the area.
- I have tried to reach Alexandria Bavarian Service in Alexandria, VA for the past couple of days but no luck; no one picks up the phone. I give up on them.

Any other places?

Thanks for any help you may provide...

Old 10-06-2011, 07:38 AM
daflake
6th Gear
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Mach V Motorsports is in Sterling Highly recommended....

Old 10-06-2011, 07:45 AM
dondada
1st Gear