Cooper (non S) Modifications specific to the MINI Cooper (R56).

Non-S CAI Functional Differences

Search this Thread

Old 03-26-2015, 11:36 AM
MyAudioDNA
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I have been looking into replacing the intake on my 2011 Non-S. In looking at the different options available, there seem to be a few main routes people have taken:

DDMWorks - Replaces the stock airbox with an open cone filter and a metal shield

AIRVIP 2 - Replaces the stock intake muffler with a solid tube

AIRVIP 2.5 - Replaces the stock airbox lid, putting the filter on top of the airbox rather than inside it

My question is, couldn't these $200-$300 systems easily be replicated for about $75 with just a cone filter, some holes in the stock airbox lid and and a piece of pipe bent by a muffler shop? I don't understand why these are so expensive for what seems like not much. If there is more to it than I am seeing, please forgive my ignorance and correct me accordingly. I am very new to all of this, just trying to get some clarification on what exactly I'd be getting with the above systems.

Old 03-26-2015, 12:06 PM
kyoo
6th Gear
Received 71 Likes on 53 Posts
that's more or less what i did with my evo - pulled off the intake box etc. an stuck a cone filter on the end of it, it's pretty much the go-to setup.

that said, none of these are gonna do much of anythin gon the non-s coopers, definitely not worth the money

Old 03-26-2015, 01:20 PM
Saltysalt
6th Gear
Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts
IMO best thing would be to replace the filter with something hi flow. from what I understand on the gen 2, it pulls air from a great place, if you drill a bunch of holes in it, youll be pulling in the warmer engine air, which may or may not make a difference

Old 03-26-2015, 01:54 PM
MyAudioDNA
1st Gear
Originally Posted by Saltysalt