1st Gear New members: make an initial post and introduce yourself as you shift from Neutral to First Gear. Current members: meet some of the new members.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New Guy

Search this Thread

Old 12-01-2018, 06:49 PM
FyremanTFD
Neutral
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
New Guy

Hello all. I'm new to the MINI community. I have a few questions about my '11 R56. I will first browse the search with the questions.
A little about my MINI and why I got it. I work in Tallahassee, FL, but live in Panama City Beach. So I bought it to commute in since my Silverado 3500 duelly Duramax gets about half the fuel mileage the MINI gets. I love driving it. It's really a blast to drive. I got an '11 MINI Cooper base hardtop. It is BRG with black top, mirrors, and pillars. The rest of the trim is chrome, but I'm going to slowly black that out. I put gloss black wheels in 17" on it with tires that are better for the rainy conditions I've been driving in.
It has the MINI connect, but I think the entertainment system needs a software upgrade, so I can't use most of it. I don't have a MINI dealership closer than 2 hours away, which sucks. The halogen lights are terrible in the dark. I bought LED bulbs, but they are not much better. That is one issue that I have questions about. I'll get to that after looking around for possible answers already covered.
Thanks

Old 12-02-2018, 04:11 AM
miniCPA
5th Gear
Received 145 Likes on 129 Posts
Welcome to the forum and the MINI experience. We need some pictures....

I am always surprised by the people who can go from one of the biggest vehicles on the road to one of the smallest. I have always felt more comfortable in the smaller vehicles, however, I struggle to imagine the the transition for people like yourself. Congratulations for making the huge transition in one move and not buying something like a Buick first as a transition.