1st Gear New members: make an initial post and introduce yourself as you shift from Neutral to First Gear. Current members: meet some of the new members.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

First post, help me pick the right mini!

Search this Thread

Old 02-08-2015, 07:57 PM
silence2-38554
3rd Gear
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
First post, help me pick the right mini!

Hey everyone, I'm a long time Subaru enthusiast, having owned my WRX just shy of a decade. After living in San Francisco for the last two years, I'm REALLY starting to see why everyone here owns minis. Size, fuel efficiency, fun to drive, etc. Now, as for myself - I tend to tinker with my cars. I was a mechanic for a couple years & have extensively modded every car I have ever owned. That being said, I'm kind of over it. Especially living in this city. I'd really like to get a car that is already fun enough to drive without feeling the need to tinker further, while staying under the $10k mark.

From the research I've done, I think the mini I'm looking for is a 2005 JCW Hard top.

I've read that since the 04/05's were the later years of the first reissues, they tend to be the most solid cars with the least issues. Similarly, I have read that the '08-'09's are great because all the kinks were worked out from the first of the second generations.

All that aside, I understand that cars are cars, things will break & maintenance will inevitably need to be done.

I just discovered the JCW is even a thing while doing research on the S models today. +37 horsepower in a car this small? Yes, please! Now what I'm wondering is - will the suspension on this model beat me up while driving around SF? I have my WRX dropped on fairly compliant springs (~250lbs/in) and feel that it's just a tad too stiff for this city. I realize the WRX is also a much heavier car, so that rate may be irrelevant in the world of Mini's.