1st Gear New members: make an initial post and introduce yourself as you shift from Neutral to First Gear. Current members: meet some of the new members.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New Memeber, Soon To Be Mini Owner - Need Suggestions!

Search this Thread

Old 03-25-2012, 04:10 PM
ModernMini
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New Memeber, Soon To Be Mini Owner - Need Suggestions!

Hi all,

I've been researching Mini Coopers for the past 3 months or so, and this site has been a HUGE help to me. I've always liked the looks of the Mini, but I never had a chance to drive one until this past New Years Eve. We had an abnormally warm day here in Wisconsin, and I convinced my wife to check out a Mini Cooper with me.

We drove up to Milwaukee, and test drive both the JCW and S models (2012). The JCW definitely had a more aggressive feel to it; which I loved. My wife even liked the Mini, and is actually interested in getting a Countryman in the next two years or so. Anyways, we ended up deciding that I would sell my 93' Toyota MR2 Turbo this spring, and then move forward with our purchase.

Thanks to the mild winter and early spring, I've had the car out for a few weeks, and it is currently on eBay. Since it only has $100 to go to meet the reserve with 4 days left, and currently has 41 people watching it, I feel very confident that it will be selling. As a result, it's time for me to get serious about finding a car.

My dealership has a new 2011 Mini Cooper S in their showroom. It is Horizon Blue, no sunroof, and doesn't have too many other options either. MSRP is $27,400, but they currently have it marked down. After working with the dealer the past few weeks, it sounds like I could get it for abut $4,000 off MSRP. To me, that sounds like a great deal. The problem is, I REALLY liked driving the JCW.