R56 :: Hatch Talk (2007+) MINI Cooper and Cooper S (R56) hatchback discussion.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

R56 Which intake?

Search this Thread

Old 04-26-2015, 07:13 PM
soupthefish
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Which intake?

I know there's already a lot of threads on intake systems so I appreciate those who clicked, but I just cannot find good solid comparisons between the actual intake systems just people comparing filters! So I want the system with the best performance and sound (especially the low growl minis can make) and since I'm a student, cost and mpg are also a factor.

I've been looking at the K&N typhoon system at $270 for a while and the shining reviews made me pretty confident about it, but now I've discovered the DDMworks street intake at about $170.

K&N CLAIMS more power with their system and more reviews mentions improved power than do the DDM reviews, however I've also heard about another DDMworks intake that costs about $250 and really accentuates the low growls but I can't seem to find this system.

In any case I would really just appreciate any help with the situation.

PS. I'm also looking at the WMW BOV which apparently doesn't dump boost back into the atmosphere but actually circulates it at a higher volume. Thoughts?

Old 04-26-2015, 07:43 PM
cguzz
3rd Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Way "all the way"

You can trust Way shoot him an email or call after MOTD. I went with his suggestion on air intake as well...got the JCW stage 2. Don't believe any of the BS about these fictitious HP gains you see from ECS adds and the like...which is bound to pop up below here before lunch tomorrow.

Last edited by cguzz; 04-26-2015 at 07:52 PM.
Old 04-26-2015, 07:47 PM
yesti
5th Gear
Received 40 Likes on 35 Posts
What car do you have? Intakes won't give you any performance benefits, maybe some noise (aka sound). I suggest an afe dry performance panel filter for best performance.