General MINI Talk Shared experiences, motoring minutes, and other general MINI-related discussion that applies to all MINIs, regardless of model, year or trim.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Just a girl who really wants a mini!

Search this Thread

Old 05-05-2015, 06:28 PM
Minisamantha
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Just a girl who really wants a mini!

I need some advice! I'm new to the mini market and am looking at buying a used mini - I would be a daily driver, any tips on what to look for or stay away from?

Old 05-05-2015, 06:59 PM
buzzsaw
6th Gear
Received 42 Likes on 32 Posts
Price range?

Old 05-05-2015, 07:10 PM
Minisamantha
Neutral
That's a tough question , originally I was thinking 12000 CAD but once I started looking I wasn't sure if that was reasonable

Old 05-05-2015, 07:30 PM
AZdsrt
6th Gear
Received 57 Likes on 53 Posts
As new as you can get, and avoid an S. The condition of the mini is everything, be sure to have it inspected before purchase. Money well spent. These cars are not cheap to repair in comparison to a non-european vehicle.

Old 05-05-2015, 08:04 PM
Osteo
1st Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Hey minisamantha! I was in the same boat a month or so ago... ended up spending just over $13k Cdn (before tax) from a used place just outside of Toronto. I did a fair bit of reading and did not want an S as AZdsrt mentioned as it is also my spirited DD so wanted slightly better mileage . I also shied away from the 1st generations as I had read they had some issues, particularly the CVT's (I preferred Standard anyway) and some rumours about a water pump issue I think...