Tires, Wheels, & Brakes Discussion about wheels, tires, and brakes for the new MINI.

Best wheel and tire combinations

Search this Thread

Old 09-12-2018, 12:47 PM
Our r56
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Best wheel and tire combinations

Hi. I’m new to this and have been looking online for answers but never get the exact answer I’m looking for. I recently bought a 2012 Mini with 15x5.5” factory rims and my tires are about as wide as a bicycle. I would like to know will a 15x8” rim fit on my completely stock Mini (non S)? If so, what would b the best offset? Also, What would be the widest tire I could fit without doing any kind of modifications? Thanks in advance for any help.

Old 09-12-2018, 02:30 PM
minihune
OVERDRIVE - Racing Champion
Received 67 Likes on 65 Posts
Are you planning to lower suspension or use OEM? This determines your clearance and requirements for wheel offset.

As long as the 15" wheel you choose can fit over the front brake calipers then it should be OK. Since you have 15" wheels I assume you have a base Cooper not Cooper S (has larger front brakes).

While there is nothing wrong with OEM 15" wheels and 175/65-15 all season tires you do have options. Why do you think you need 15x8" wheels? For looks? Why do you need a wide tire size? One problem with the sweet spot for MINI wheels is about 7" wide, 8" is OK but tire sizes that fit the MINI tire diameter aren't as available. This means as you look for tire sizes beyond 205 or 215 mm wide in 15" wheels they might not work as well with any dropped suspension. Go to tirerack and look at which tires you would use then check sizes in 15". Some tire models don't come in any smaller than 17" sizes. You'll find better tire selection in All Season tire classes than in summer tires for 15" wheels.