Suspension Springs, struts, coilovers, sway-bars, camber plates, and all other modifications to suspension components for Cooper (R50), Cabrio (R52), and Cooper S (R53) MINIs.

Suspension VIDEO How-To: Rear Swaybar Install

Search this Thread

Old 06-22-2006, 07:34 PM
agranger
6th Gear
Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
VIDEO How-To: Rear Swaybar Install

Hi all!

A few weeks ago I had to replace my upgraded rear swaybar with the stock unit until I could get some parts replaced. It took about 2.5 hours to do the work the first time because I couldn't find all of the bolts and I was a bit unsure of the process because I just couldn't SEE it being done. I can remember thinking "If I only had a video...", so when I invited my local club over for a rear swaybar install day (we did 6 cars in one afternoon, including Jango), I got out my digital camera and went to work.

Here is a step-by-step breakdown of the entire install process. All of the usual disclaimers apply... I'm not a professional mechanic, nor do I play one on TV. This video shows how we did it... not how it should be done or even a remotely safe way to do the work. I call one of the rear suspension linkages a steering linkage somewhere in there (It must be the new GMC quadra-steer) and I have been told that the electronics box I point to is for Xenon leveling, not ABS. I also mention a 10-inch socket instead of a 10mm socket... you will just have to cut me some slack.

I am not advertising this as "THE" way to do the install. This is the way that we did it and it seems to have worked. The camera and shooting the video was more of an afterthought. None of it was scripted or planned, so no more research was put into it. I did a bit of research, after the fact, to put together the text of the instructions... hoping to counter my awful commentary.