Suspension Improve cornering without too much ride sacrifice

Search this Thread

Old 11-16-2017, 03:48 PM
Flea77
2nd Gear
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Improve cornering without too much ride sacrifice

I am just getting into both increasing HP/torque, and improving my cornering ability but do not want to give up too much ride comfort. Already replaced the runflats with some nice Michellens and that has both improved the comfort and cornering all at the same time.

I completely understand that stiffer ride = better cornering but I also feel there are things that can be done to improve cornering without turning it into a butt killer.

My wife and I take Buster (2015 MCS) on long trips all over the US, going to try MTTS all the way this year (only did a few stops last time). While we do travel quite a bit so we need some semblance of a smooth ride, we are also always in the fast group on group rides (usually the only non-JCW in the bunch, heh).

I have thought about a strut tower brace, a new rear anti sway, some wheel spacers (although with the 18s on there now I am not sure I can put spacers on there without the wheel hitting the wheel well.

What I am asking for is a direction to go to improve the cornering as much as possible while keeping my and my wife's butt semi happy on long trips.

Thanks!

Old 11-16-2017, 03:57 PM
Minnie.the.Moocher
OVERDRIVE
Received 570 Likes on 486 Posts
Rear sway bar sounds like what you want.

Old 11-16-2017, 04:09 PM
Flea77
2nd Gear
Suggestions on a particular one?

Old 11-16-2017, 05:41 PM
Minnie.the.Moocher
OVERDRIVE
Received 570 Likes on 486 Posts
Never got around to buying it because my son took the car, but http://www.vipcustomparts.com/R60%20parts%20page.htm was what I wanted. Several vendors on NAM have a range of products.

Old 11-16-2017, 09:00 PM
Fly'n Brick
6th Gear
Received 367 Likes on 311 Posts
Way has a 25MM RSB that will greatly reduce understeer and body roll.