Stock Problems/Issues Discussions related to warranty related issues and repairs, or other problems with the OEM parts and software for MINI Cooper (R50), Cabrio (R52), and Cooper S (R53) MINIs.

2nd Clutch replacement - New Flywheel?

Search this Thread

Old 04-17-2013, 08:01 PM
tjsadler
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2nd Clutch replacement - New Flywheel?

I have an 05 MCS Convertible. About three years ago I replaced the stock clutch with the Valeo SMF clutch kit. Overall I have been happy with it but now the clutch is out and needs to be replaced again. My niece has been driving it and rode the clutch way to much . Anyway, my question is this: Obviously the first time I replaced the flywheel with the single mass unit. Is the flywheel likely to need replacement again or can it be machined?

Old 04-19-2013, 06:32 PM
AlexQS
5th Gear
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
I'm new to MINI, but good sense from a few decades working on my own cars says: that valeo flywheel being single mass is like any other. So replace the clutch, pressure plate, and throw out bearing. Call your local machine shop to have the flywheel resurfaced.

You could telephone the guys at waymotorworks and ask. They sell the parts you're talking about, and I've heard they're nice and easy to work with.

I replied mostly because I wanted to know how you liked the valeo single mass flywheel. Did you drive the car with the dual mass flywheel before? Did you notice a difference driving it after the change? If your niece hadn't been driving your car, do you think the valeo clutch would have lasted longer?

I'm not really sure what the benefit of the dual mass flywheel is, all I know is mine is noisy as heck when ideling in neutral, can't see getting another one at $750, especially since it can not be resurfaced.

Motor on

Alex

Old 04-21-2013, 09:54 AM
tjsadler
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts