R56 :: Hatch Talk (2007+) MINI Cooper and Cooper S (R56) hatchback discussion.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

R56 2011 mcs most mini drivers are apple consumers

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2012, 05:06 PM
flatlander_48
5th Gear
Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts
Originally Posted by Boosted_Mini
Obviously you do not do any sort of enterprise computing.. I am an IT Manager in the Port of LA, and prior I was an Unix/Linux admin for the US Govt.. I can tell you that both these places rely heavily on open source OS's. And buggy OS's? I think you sir have misconceptions of the open source world, but its that MAC mentality telling you to take the easy way out.
Quick CV:
Mechanical Engineer 39.5 years, including 6 years as a programmer in FORTRAN, BASIC, Datatrieve; GPSS/H, AutoMod and SLAM discrete event simulation languages; VAX VMS, RSTS/E, RSX-11, DOS, Windows, Macintosh and Unix operating systems.

I only say this to let you know that I do have some sense of the computing world beyond one's own desktop.

So, what you are ignoring is the business model that Apple has. My employer (not Apple) also has a similar mindset. This is an innovation business model versus a commodity business model. When technology items become commodities, your profit margin gets very thin. You CANNOT support a lot of R&D work because you simply can't afford it. Conversely, you can choose to invest in Research and Development, create new things that didn't exist before and sell at a higher profit margin. This is exactly what my employer has done for many years now.

Consider this: BMW's philospohy is similar. They are not interested in a Chevy mindset. BMW's (including MINIs) will never be high volume. It is the same philosophy: keep up technical innovation, give the customers something truly unique that they can't find somewhere else, set the pace and NEVER become a commodity.

Last edited by flatlander_48; 02-27-2012 at 05:18 PM.
Old 02-27-2012, 05:18 PM
flatlander_48
5th Gear