R56 :: Hatch Talk (2007+) MINI Cooper and Cooper S (R56) hatchback discussion.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

R56 New 2008 R56 MCS Died while driving.

Search this Thread

Old 03-05-2008, 07:17 AM
WindPower
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New 2008 R56 MCS Died while driving.

Hello everyone I am new to being a mini owner and am very happy with my car but do not want to dog the new R56 MCS I just purchased on 02/23/08. Everything so far upto last night was great; the mpg, comfort, ride, feel, sale, finance, pretty much everything. Which in turn now makes me a mini addict and I can't stop talking about them.

Here is what happened. I was driving in along on my way to Ace Hardware to go buy some light bulbs for my home. I came up to the light near the store and waited to turn. Once it was green I proceeded my normal way and when I went to shift into 3rd gear I looked at my tachometer and it read zero. So I turned down my radio listened ,coasted for a bit ,and turned into a parking lot nearby under no power but everything else on my car my still on. Stopped the car ,turned off by taping the Start/stop button. Tried to restart and the starter turned on but was just wining and that is all, no motor cranking ,just a sound from the starter. Nothing else. This made me very upset after several attempts . I have had the car for a week and a half. The roadside assistance was very helpful and picked the car up this morning at 6 and is now on its way to mini center of san antonio. I am a wind turbine technician and pretty good with mechanics but this just blew my mind. SH#t

please if you have any regards or questions respond.

Last edited by WindPower; 03-05-2008 at 09:58 PM.
Old 03-05-2008, 07:45 AM
miniemee
3rd Gear
I would call the mini towing service, the number for which is on a sticker in the rear hatch compartment. They will tow it and fix it.

Old 03-05-2008, 08:14 AM
jyarrow
4th Gear