R55 :: Clubman Talk (2008+) Discussions revolving around the extended wheelbase Clubman (R55) model.

R55 Wrenching on a 2009 Clubman S

Search this Thread

Old 01-13-2011, 11:47 AM
wiseblood
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Wrenching on a 2009 Clubman S

Hi All --

Can anyone point me to resources for wrenching on my own Clubman S?

I do quite a bit (about 98%) of my own maintenance on my motorcycles, but I've never worked on a car before... never really had a car I wanted to work on, frankly.

For starters, is the service manual available for purchase or download?

What sorts of tasks to Mini owners -- particularly those without a lift(!!) -- perform on their own?

Thanks & warmest,

Jesse

Old 01-13-2011, 02:17 PM
MINIdave
6th Gear
Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts
There isn't a whole lot to do on this car, besides oil changes, for a good long time.

We're all waiting for Bentley to publish a manual for the 2nd gen cars, but so far there's nothing out there that I'm aware of.....when they do, that's the one to get.

At some point you'll need to change some brake pads I'm sure, there are how-to's for that as well as oil changes and such here on the forum if you search.

It's really not a hard car to work on....mostly. Some jobs require a bit more work to gain access, and a clutch or transmission job is a fairly major event.

Most of the wrenching that gets done on these cars is to mod them!

Old 01-13-2011, 05:01 PM
SkaBob
2nd Gear
One thing I've been curious about, hopefully it's not too off topic for this thread, but I think it fits...

I see a lot of owners change their own oil, and I like to do the same. In the past, I've had problems with other car companies when I had to have repairs on engine components. I've had two different car companies basically say, "We don't believe you did the oil changes, sorry." when it came time to figure out warranty coverage and who pays for the repair.