GP Talk (2006) Discussion of the limited edition, MINI Cooper S (R53)-based, John Cooper Works GP.

GP or JCW?

Old 03-04-2011, 03:38 AM
teeots
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
GP or JCW?

HI Guys,

I just joined five minutes ago and have a question. I am looking at buying my first mini. I started looking at s models with the intention of going the aftermarket route- engine performance and suspension, etc. Then I started looking at GPs and JCWs. I have narrowed it down to:

1: GP with 50kmi

2: JCW with 30kmi, with H&R springs, rear sway bar, oz wheels, camber plates

Probably the wrong place to ask the question but I look forward to your input. Also, my background is with wrx's and sti's so now I am wondering if a gp or jcw will keep my interest. Not a daily driver, but a somewhat regular use vehicle- 2-3 drives per week for errands and fun drives, occasional short trips.

Thanks

Old 03-04-2011, 05:45 AM
JPMM
6th Gear
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
pretty close in terms of performance( if the JCW is a late R53 or has updates), decisions might come down to; color , options, overall condition, freshness of wear items, money.
Do you have photos to post?

Old 03-04-2011, 06:53 AM
teeots
1st Gear
No photos 'til I make up my mind!

If its that close than I prefer the single color of the Jcw to the 3 or four colors of the gp.

Any gp owners feel differently?

Old 03-04-2011, 07:06 AM
wrx_xb9r
4th Gear
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Teeots,

I went from WRX to STi to Audi S5 and now to JCW MINI. The MINI is the most fun to daily drive of all of these. However be prepared as it does not have the power of any of these. (well maybe better than WRX). The quick handling of the MINI is fantastic. However if doing a lot of long trips the S5 was fantastic.

Old 03-04-2011, 07:12 AM
cct1
6th Gear
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts