General Discussion Competiting with the new MINI on track or at a SCCA Solo event.

Mini Countryman in Autox..guess not!!

Search this Thread

Old 06-19-2012, 01:14 PM
eggmole
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Mini Countryman in Autox..guess not!!

Well went out on Sunday to tryout Autox(SCCA sanctioned)) in my Countryman, but it was a NO GO since the Countryman does not have a classification yet. I am new to the sport and was not aware of the details on how they class the car, so i guess it was a learning experience.

Based on what I was told the Countryman was literally on the line based on measurement, and there are currently no gov't(Roll over Rating) or SSF ratings on the Countryman so the can put it in a class.

I think this really stinks, you would think that a MINI Countryman would get some type of classification by now. It has been available for over a year already and nothing has changed. I have done some research and it appears that there have been other Countrymans that have been turned away from autox for the same reason. I mean if a Sienna van can get out there then i don't see why my Countryman can't. I mean if they can allow the Abrath Fiat race even though the stock version is not allowed then can't they take into consideration that the Countryman has a better suspesion and handling than most other vehicle out there and are not gross off on measurement like the Abrath.

Is there a way to get this changed or get some type of classification?
If I lower my Countryman, and move from stock class, will they allow it or is still not allowed since there is no classification?

Sorry, I am a bit dissappointed in this and not sure what to do and if it would even be worth the time and money.

Old 06-19-2012, 04:13 PM
Jim Michaels
5th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts