Drivetrain (Cooper S) MINI Cooper S (R53) intakes, exhausts, pulleys, headers, throttle bodies, and any other modifications to the Cooper S drivetrain.

Drivetrain R53 Stock pistons cast or forged?

Search this Thread

Old 06-16-2017, 11:37 AM
GTI-UP
1st Gear
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
R53 Stock pistons cast or forged?

After reading about 4 different forums and a lot of arguing and insults I still can't seem to find a definite answer or proof. Everyone seems to agree they were made by Mahle, but even the vendors seemed to argue on weather or not they were forged or cast.

I want to go with forged internals on my rebuild for sustained RPM but I'm also in no hurry to redo rings at 100,000 due to alloy expansion on the aftermarket pistons. The stocks, if forged seem to be the best medium due to the tolerances and the fact that they are also coated, does that sound about right and make sense? I'm no expert engine builder but from what I have read over the last month forged, coated and tight tolerances seems to be the best solution for my needs.

I'm hoping not to cause any grief here.....just want to know and not sure of who to call.

Old 06-16-2017, 12:10 PM
IQRaceworks
6th Gear
Received 113 Likes on 94 Posts
Originally Posted by GTI-UP
After reading about 4 different forums and a lot of arguing and insults I still can't seem to find a definite answer or proof. Everyone seems to agree they were made by Mahle, but even the vendors seemed to argue on weather or not they were forged or cast.

I want to go with forged internals on my rebuild for sustained RPM but I'm also in no hurry to redo rings at 100,000 due to alloy expansion on the aftermarket pistons. The stocks, if forged seem to be the best medium due to the tolerances and the fact that they are also coated, does that sound about right and make sense? I'm no expert engine builder but from what I have read over the last month forged, coated and tight tolerances seems to be the best solution for my needs.