Detailing 101 Need to find out how to pamper your new MINI? Find out all the detailing secrets here.

car care newbie needs advice!

Search this Thread

Old 03-04-2003, 08:20 AM
digitalpussi
3rd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Hi I just took delivery of my CR/W MC on saturday. This is my first car, and I am new to car care. I really want to keep my car looking beautiful and clean. Since I am new to this I really don't want to damage the the paint surface from using incorrect towels/fabric that can cause scratches in the clear coat. I am also not familiar with what the best soap product to use for washing this car? Also, what are some good habits/methods for cleaning the car? I noticed that MINI has its own line of cleaning products and was wondering if these would be adequate to start me out with? Furthermore, what cleaning tools do I need? I am really sorry for my ignorance on this, but I have noticed a lot of you have experience in this and would have potentially good advice to share with me :smile: For example after driving my MC home from the dealer there are bug guts all over my mirrors, bumper, and grill I ran my MC through a Touchless carwash and of course it wasn't able to thoroughly clean off the bugs. How would you clean bugs off without being too adbrasive? Since, these bugs cooked in the sun on my car while driving 300+ miles from the dealer to home.

Can someone help me?

Old 03-04-2003, 08:25 AM
dave
pug poo picker-upper
Received 30 Likes on 18 Posts
Congrats on taking delivery of your new MINI. :smile: Now let's see some stripes.

Old 03-04-2003, 08:31 AM
8ball
6th Gear
Congrats, DP! ... if you can spare the time, read a bunch of these 'Detailing' threads and you'll have a good idea about how to start; Actually, if you PM Davbret, you'll get all the (best) info you'll ever need ...

Old 03-04-2003, 01:37 PM
Davbret
6th Gear
Howdy Digipus! :smile:

R

Old 03-04-2003, 01:46 PM
nfo
6th Gear
congrats!
nice name !

Old 03-05-2003, 01:03 AM
digitalpussi