Classic Mini Talk Interested in the Classic Mini? Discuss the Classic and its variants here!

How should the drive shafts look when you are parked?

Search this Thread

Old 11-16-2013, 05:03 AM
jetmechinnc
3rd Gear
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
How should the drive shafts look when you are parked?

I'm new to the classic mini seen, but am enjoying reading up on my purchase and how to work on it. One thing I'm trying to find out is if the rubber cones are so worn, only about 1-2 inches thick, should they be thicker? Is this making my drive shafts bind. Sitting in park, the drive shafts to the front wheels are angled down towards the transmission. I'm wondering should they be neutral or angled up? Plus, minus needing new cones and shocks, when coasting in gear over rough roads, there is a rattle, but with the car out of gear, it doesn't rattle, and under acceleration I don't notice a rattle, it's just loud I'm assuming due to either the lack of any sound proofing or wear on the drive shafts. Any suggestions? Plus, I'm trying to find out if there is a mount either worn or broke, need to get it on a lift hopefully next week, but when you shift without letting out the clutch easy, should it clunk into gear and jolt even the steering wheel or this a sign of worn or broken mounts?

Old 11-17-2013, 02:57 PM
Capt_bj
OVERDRIVE
Received 281 Likes on 237 Posts
I'd REALLY like to help you here BUT >>>>

Cones: I'm thinking what you are referencing in the "1-2 inches" is what you can see ... there is more cone IN THE CUP. Are your cones shot? Probably . . . and if you want more 'control' over your suspension when you replace the cones you can add adjustable arms (aka hi/lo's) AND/OR springs in place of cones
http://www.minimania.com/part/C-STR6...-MINI-COOPER-S

What's rattling? To check the various mounts heres what I would do - and you need a helper (aka MATE) to do it.

1. Block the wheels SECURELY