Tires, Wheels, & Brakes Discussion about wheels, tires, and brakes for the new MINI.

Brake upgrade advice, please!

Search this Thread

Old 05-01-2015, 04:57 PM
oddrockinegg
3rd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Brake upgrade advice, please!

Hello!

I am a spirited driver on a budget. My R56S is my daily driver and I participate the occasional autocross. So, that's most of my activity that I need to take into consideration when it comes to brakes and rotors.

The thing that got me considering an upgrade, is my trip to the dragon this week. I had several great runs throughout my 3 days there. And by great, I mean, clean, and fast without pushing the limits of either me or my car. However, it seems I pushed the limits of my brakes for sure. It was kind of scary. It didn't get to the point of brake failure, but it was definitely "slipping."

What are some recommendations based on my needs?

Thank you!!!

Old 05-01-2015, 11:38 PM
squawSkiBum
Received 302 Likes on 223 Posts
1) do a brake fluid flush, especially if it has been more than 2 years since it was last done. Consider using brake fluid rated for higher temp, like Motul RBF600.

2) get some better brake pads. I run EBC yellows at the track with no fade. EBC reds are very popular for daily driver duty. Plenty of threads discussing brake pads, read up for other recommendations.

Old 05-03-2015, 04:14 PM
minihune
OVERDRIVE - Racing Champion
Received 67 Likes on 65 Posts
Originally Posted by oddrockinegg
Hello!

I am a spirited driver on a budget. My R56S is my daily driver and I participate the occasional autocross. So, that's most of my activity that I need to take into consideration when it comes to brakes and rotors.