STX (Street Touring X) Going to class this weekend

Search this Thread

Old 03-21-2006, 07:09 PM
SB
6th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Going to class this weekend

The local Autocross guys are holding a drivers school again this year and this time I'll make it. The event consist of class Friday night, school Saturday and actual runs Sunday. I entered myself in STX based on what I have on my car. Though, being a student, I'm not sure if they will actually put us in classes or just let us all run against the clock as a whole.

The question I have is about my swaybar. I have the H-sport Comp bar set on the softest setting. I'm comfortable and familiar with how the car reacts on this setting. I know going stiffer would be better for autocross but at this point should I keep it with the setting I have? I'm considering keeping it there only because I'm not sure if it will be a good idea going into this with a new setting. What's the advice here on whether I should keep it the same or go stiffer before the school in a few days? When I say stiffer, I only mean the middle setting. Not the stiffest.

I'll also be putting my stock 16"s on with Yoko es100's

Old 03-21-2006, 07:57 PM
gowest
4th Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
It would seem like the best possible time to me, to go stiffer.

Old 03-22-2006, 04:24 PM
minifinn
4th Gear
You should set the way you are going to race it. Driver schools will give you lots of runs. Take advantage of it and learn you limits.

Caveat: All cars don't set up the same. Grip varies greatly depending on surface, tires, other suspension settings, etc.... What is good for one MINI is not the same for all. Experiment at Test & Tunes and driving schools when the clock is costing you less.

Old 03-22-2006, 05:13 PM
SB
6th Gear