How To Trunk lid grip button not working – DIY

Search this Thread

Old 02-20-2018, 01:57 PM
Seaswood
3rd Gear
Received 13 Likes on 13 Posts
Soder

Originally Posted by Todd Gerken
I saw that. I was a little confused because it looks like there are 3 other wired in that image going to 1,2 and 3. Wasn't too sure what that was about. do all 3 get soldered together?
No, in the photo Tom has he used 1 & 3 to the new switch that is what I did.
Look at the photo again.
A iron with a fine point helps as does tinning the wires then I added just a little soder at the said wires on the board.
If you have never done anything like this get a practice board to test your methods.
Does not appear to be positive or negative at switch.
The switch momentary pushes volts to open the hatch.

Old 07-25-2018, 03:02 PM
Jacquelyn
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Randy - you are the man!! Thank you!

I'm a novice and your instructions were very thorough and descriptive. I did however have problems with removing the plastic shell covers. The clips on either end were really hard to remove and finally they just broke. But the rest of the clips were okay and everything seated properly and snuggly so even with the broken clips, it's not a problem. I tried and tried and tried not to break them. I took the new chrome shell cover off the new part first (as practice) just so I could see how to remove it. I'm glad I did because I broke the the chrome tabs also!

Getting the electrical housing apart with a little bit tricky. I didn't realize I was trying to get out the smaller piece. but it eventually came apart and everything works wonderfully! Thanks again for your post, you truly saved me hundreds of dollars.

Jacquie
😎

Originally Posted by RandyR90S
For all the help I’ve received from DIY posts and videos, here’s my first attempt to ‘give back’….

Ride: 2007 Cooper S R56
Problem:
Rear hatch won't open via the handle on the door.
Pops open fine using the key fob.