R60 :: Countryman Talk (2010-2015) R60 Cooper and Cooper S hatchback discussion NOT REPAIR RELATED Discussions.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

R60 Connected/Nav: Audio,Video,Telephony

Search this Thread

Old 01-14-2011, 11:29 AM
Midnight Blue
6th Gear
Received 29 Likes on 20 Posts
Connected/Nav: Audio,Video,Telephony

I must admit it is has been somewhat overwhelming for me to learn about the Countryman, especially since I am new to the MINI brand.

The sheer number of controls and function within MINI Connected/Nav is keeping me up at night - literally. In my few dives of ownership, I have spent more time in the drivers seat just fiddling with things while the car is idling than actually driving the car.

Perhaps we can use this thread to post questions and provide feedback for features and functionality related to the MINI Connected with/without Nav system. There are just so many possibilities of what can be done.

Thus far, I have managed to:

Attach my iPod (pre-Classic 80GB)
-play music with album art display
-play video (iTunes TV show) - PROBLEM: VIDEO BUT NO AUDIO? Why?

Attach USB flash drive with MP3 files
-play music with album art display, playlists are supported too

Connect BlackBerry Storm2 via Bluetooth
-displays all contacts
-marked numerous contacts to be stored in the MINI's "Office"
-able to stream audio over Bluetooth (music files on phone and Slacker Radio) - this is pretty cool but I will probably never use it.

Navigation
-use Office contacts to set destination
-use voice control to set destination

MINI Connected app on iPad
-just for kicks I loaded the MINI Connected app on my iPad to see what it does, it does work as advertised though I only spend a few minutes playing with it.

Any ideas on why no audio for iPod videos? I checked the one TV show I loaded from iTunes (I never used the iPod for video before) and there is audio, just not playing through the system for some reason.